New blog post

So the past few days have been really good , but at the same time new and interesting. Let me see if I can try to explain whats going on here. The past few days God has been showing Himself to me in new ways that I have always known were around , but it seems like my heart is open to the new ideas. So on Saturday night I was with my friend and I was just getting ready for worship that night. Every Saturday night at Glad Tidings in Omaha, they have there young adults program which I am part of.It is called Underground ministry, lots of great people there, close friends and I have only been going there since November, but it seems  like a lot longer. (insert witty commercial) The theme for 2011 is no excuses, meaning what is holding just back from truly accepting God  ready to radically change our lives. No more coming up with why me, it cannot be anything like that. No more take a stand.

So the worship team started, they did a good job, but I did not feel like I wanted to be in there, I felt unease not worthy to worship God. I just wanted to leave. But God other plans for me that night, I ran  into two close friends who just really pored truth into me, just really helped encourage me. As I started to go back into worship and the message little did I know that God was going to rock me. I thought to myself ” hmm I am making an excuse right now why not to worship” change of mind and additute. God loves me regardless of where i have been and what I have done, He can still use me. So the message started, the pastor challenged us that we may either really like it or walk away and be upset. he hated giving this type of message but he felt and knew that it had to be done. He started out asking a bunch of questions, such as What do you believe as a christian? What is holding you back? Do you believe in true discipleship? If so are you ready to follow Christ at a moments notice? Are you forgiving? If so why are you harboring sin? And a lot of other questions such as those.

From there the message went into 2 Kings 2 the story of where Elijah is taking up unto heaven and Elisha replaces him. And how Elisha would not leave Elijah side no matter what, and how when Elijah goes how Elisha wants a double portion of his spirit. That is how we need to be when it comes to Christ. We need a double portion of who Christ is in our lives. Also what is holding us back from truly coming unto the Lord right now? What is stopping us? From there he challenged us to search our hearts, and see what God was going to teach us that night. He asked us three questions the first one was: Do you believe enough in Christ to leave everything to follow?Number two: Do you believe Jesus enough to serve in the shadows for a while meaning behind the sceans? Number three: Do you believe enough never to leave the side of Jesus even though He said it was ok?After that moment he challenged us to search out our hearts to seek the answers, if we needed prayer he would be available. God just radically changed my view on a few things that night, things i had held inside and did not want to share with anyone ever, I realized that a lot of quick discions making that I do is based on my emotional side.  I have always known that,but when it came to my relationship with God? That is what hit me hard.

So Sunday morning, I was supposed to give a a friend a ride to church, well i stayed over night at another friends house and left there a lot earlier then I thought I did. So I got to do some walking and talking to God, also think about this blog entry. After we got to church I was getting ready for what God was going to teach me. The pastor was talking about desire. And the first question he asked was what is your desire?The bases of the message was from Romans 10, Romans 10:1 “Brethren my heart’s desire and my prayer to God for them is for their salvation”. Something he said that i really enjoyed, and it has challenged my thinking all ready. “The game is going on and we are in huddle right now, so lets leave the huddle and get back into the game”. Every Sunday, every  bible study should be a huddle, but lets not forget about the fact that the game is going on. The lost need to be saved and they need to get into the game also.

So Saturday the question was ” what do you believe?” And Sunday the question was “what is your desire?” Talk about two good messages, back to back really got me thinking about that also another question I would like to throw out there is. Where has my hearts focus been? So those are just some of my thoughts as to what has been going on lately.

Leave a Reply

