Friends

There are different moments within my life where I wish I could go back and try and to re do them. But I know that the past is there for a reason, and to look towards the future. It is interesting though how the memory does that.How it plays little moments of our past in our minds to get us thinking about something, or someone. It is more interesting if you see the person that you were thinking about.

There are a select few people in my life who I hold on to friendship wise, some I see on a weekly bases, others that I may not see but we have communication at least. Then there are others who I have not seen for years, but there is a connection still there. I have a lot of people in my life, and without them I would not be who I am now, but there are others who have stuck by me and low points and the high. The ones that will not and can not give up on me. Granted like ay type of relationship there will be ups and downs. But that is just natural, why have I been thinking about that so much lately? Is it due to the fact that I miss some of those friends that I do not see? Or is it I feel like I need to do more reaching out? Letting people know I am available, not just to say it but live it out.

When was the last time a friend you have not seen in a while, almost to long? Now I am not just talking about a few days or even months, but rather years. And when you do see them again there is almost that reconnection point, not awkward like we have not seen each other in a while, but more like I have truly missed you. You were once a key aspect to who I am, without you playing the role that  you did I would not be the same person. Why is that so hard to share? Or even a better thought would be what is stopping us from making that connection with them again? Even if is just an e-mail, a text, or a phone call. You never know how that might make that person feel, to know that YOU are happy to have them in your life. It sounds like I am doing this out of sympathy or to look at me type of thinking, but it is not. I just re connected with a friend that I have known now for ten years almost, have not seen them in 6 years. But just the time we spent together the other day, is a memory in which I remember being there in there life, and it felt like if no time had passed at all.

One way in which we may not be able to connect with that friend or even a loved one is if they had passed. I actually have a thought or an idea on that. Write a letter to that person, and if they had lived in your city, and you know where they are buried, take that letter note whatever and go and read it there. It will be strength for you as well, as you do that. If they are buried in another city or state, you could go to a favorite spot in your city and read it there. Healing begins with one step, one step at a time. Now what is stopping you from going out and letting YOUR friends how much they matter to you? Past hurts, shame, regrets, what ever the reason bury it. The past is there for a reason but remember also you are not the same person as the past, Reach out and be that friend. That is my challange, and my thoughts on the matter. Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

