All for one and one for all

Interesting title to say the least for this blog. I promise it will make more sense when I get done. The topic of choice for this blog, is something that I have covered once before, but it has been over two years. I figured it was time for an updated version.

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.  For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.  Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place,  and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.  In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.

God’s armor brings victory because it is  far more then a protective covering. It is the very life of Jesus Christ Himself. “Put on the armor” as Paul said in the letter to the Romans….”clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ”( Romans 13:12-14) When you do, He becomes your hiding place and your shelter in the storm–just as He was to David. Hidden in Him, you can count on His victory, for He not only covers you as a shield, He also fills you with His life. (John 15:5) “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” Since living in the safety of the armor means oneness with Jesus, we can expect to share His struggles as well as His peace. Remember, God offers us His victory in the midst of our trouble and hardship—-not in the absence of pain.

 

So the question is how do we then put on the armor of God, what does that truly look like. Here is a graph I found that will hopefully better explain everything.

 

God’s Armor

Know the Truth about…

Affirm key Scriptures

Belt of TRUTH God: the Father, Jesus, Holy Spirit

I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6) Deut. 4:39; Psalm 23:1; 18:1-3

Breastplate of RIGHTEOUSNESS The holy and perfect righteousness of Jesus in those who are “born again” and filled with His Spirit “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled.” (Matt. 5:6) Psalm 100:3; Rom. 3:23-24, 6:23; Gal. 2:20-21; Phil. 3:8-10.
Sandals of PEACE Inner peace and readiness “For He Himself is our peace…” (Eph. 2:14-15)

Rom. 5:1; Eph. 2:14; John 14:27, 16:33, 20:21.

Shield of FAITH Living by faith

“I am crucified with Christ:…and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God….” (Gal. 2:20) Rom. 4:18-21; Heb. 11:1; 1 Pet. 1:6-7

Helmet of SALVATION Salvation through Christ today and forever “Nor is there salvation in any other…”(Acts 4:12) Each day: Ps. 16, 23; Heb. 1:3-6

For eternity: 2 Cor. 4:16-18; 1 Thess. 4:17; 1 John 3:1-3

The victorious Sword of the spirit: GOD’S WORD God’s Word countering spiritual deception and accusations “…the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory….” (John 1:14)  Heb. 4:12; Matt. 4:2-11; 1 Pet. 3:15; Ps. 119:110-112

There is a lot of truth in what I posted, a lot to think about, but the question is what if I wanted to apply a lot of this to my daily prayer life? What would that look like? Here is a model of what I use.

 

The belt of truth: Thank you, my Lord, for showing me the TRUTH about Yourself, Your plans and Your ways. Thank You for reminding me that You are the only God, the Creator of heaven and earth, the King of the universe, my Father who loves me, and my Shepherd who leads me. You are my wisdom, my counselor, my hope, and my strength. You are everything I need each day!

 

The breastplate of righteousness: Thank You for showing me the truth about myself — that on my own I could never be good enough to live in your presence. Thank you for taking my sins to the cross and offering me your perfect, RIGHTEOUS life.  Lord, show me any sin that I need to confess right now, so that nothing will hinder me from being filled to overflowing with your Spirit. [Take time for confession] Thank you for forgiving me and for filling me with your RIGHTEOUS life.

The sandals of peace: Thank you for the peace you give me when I trust and follow you. Show me how to help others find that PEACE.

The shield of faith: Thank you for helping me have FAITH in you. I choose to count on everything you have shown me about yourself — and everything you have promised me in your Word.

 

The helmet of salvation: Thank you for promising me SALVATION both for today’s battles and for all eternity.

 

The sword of the spirit, the Word of God:Thank you for the scriptures you have given me to memorize. Please show me which  you want me to use to cut through deceptions and gain your victory in any battle I may face today.

But the question remains how did I come up with my title in regards to this blog? When you re read over the armor what does it say about guarding your back? Meaning what if the arrows come from behind. When we slander/talk down to we usually do not do it to there faces, instead we do it there backs. We as Christians need to be united and stand together, we need to be one for all and all for one. If we know of a way to help someone, instead of just waiting for them to ask, offer the help. This is very true in my own life lately as I have had some Jeep trouble. But God knew what He was doing even if I never did. Acts 2:45-They sold property and possessions to give to anyone who had need.

Am I saying to sell everything we have and hope that God will answer that call? By no means what I am saying is look around at what you have… what are your gifts? Are you good at fixing cars. are you good at even just listing to someone being there? Fixing a home cooked meal, offering a ride? Those are some things maybe not a gift per say, but we all have abilities to be able to help one another.Look around this holiday season and see what you can do to reach out and help one another.Happy Reading, Adam





Leave a Reply

