Reflection

I know a while  ago I did a year in review month by month. It is interesting how much reflection can truly come from that. Something else that I have been reflecting on is the interesting concept, of how much my life truly has been changed over the year. But at the same time, how the world has changed around me without me noticing it.  Not that anything like that has personal merit towards me, but just the over all thought process.  But yet at the same time so many questions are left unanswered. I am trying to picture what my life would have been like to view through the eyes of another. Now I know I can not do that, no can I change what has already happened. I just have to keep pressing on and not giving up hope.

But wait is there something left unanswered ? By all means yes, with that in mind here is a song that I feel fits the moment perfect. The song came out in 1992, by a band called DC Talk. This song is off of there “Free At Last” album. Here is the song.

Granted I have never been to prison like in the video, but in a sense we all go through our own prisons. Here is what the lyrics are. (chorus)
Some people gotta learn the hardway
I guess I’m the kinda guy
That has to find out for myself
I had to learn the hardway, Father
I’m on my knees and I’m crying for help

Now I’ve been high and I’ve been low
I’ve been some places that you will not go
I never thought there would come the day
When I wished I never would’ve lived this way
But I’ve been searching for a long, long time
I thought the devil was a friend of mine
I turned my back on everything that was true
And wasted years that belong to you

(repeat chorus)

It took so long for me to see
That I’m a victim of nature and me
Left to myself I realize
I am the maker of my own demise

But you accept me every time and again
And never mention just how selfish I’ve been
Why must it always take me so long to see
That I have fallen but you will forgive me?

(repeat chorus 2x)

The warning signs are like flares in the night
Still I proceed my greed is in spite of the fire
I know that’s bound to burn
Why is it that I always gotta learn…
The hardway, the hardway, I had to learn the hardway
The hardway, the hardway, I had to learn the hardway

We all go through own shares of ups and downs, but how many times do we feel captive almost like we are trapped. When i first heard the lyrics that is exactly what I thought. Now I know we eac deal with our own stress in different ways, but there is always an escape from what we are going through. Sometimes we just need to open our eyes and look around. Granted that might not always be the right answer, but the answer is out there. For me I write, others draw, even color. But is there another source of hope, maybe something we are missing. I do believe so. Let us look to the Bible for answers. Anything we are going through there is a peace and a comfort. Here is another video to explain what   I mean.

It is interesting how so many songs, can reflect through what we are feeling. But there is a lot of truth that is sometimes over looked within the Bible. Once again here are the lyrics. The song “Red Letters” came from the album Supernatural.

Pages filled with a holy message
Sealed with a kiss from heaven
On a scroll long ago
Phrases, words that were bound together
Now have the power to sever
Like a sword evermore

Heed the words divinely spoken
May your restless heart be broken
Let the supernatural take hold

(chorus)
There is love in the red letters
There is truth in the red letters
There is hope for the hopeless
Peace and forgiveness
There is life in the red letters
In the red letters

One man came to reveal a mystery
Changing the course of history
Made the claim he was God
Ageless, born of a virgin Mary
Spoke with a voice that carried through the years
It’s persevered

Heed the words divinely spoken
May your restless heart be broken
Let the supernatural take hold

(repeat chorus)

(bridge)
What You say moves me, revelation, come and take me
The more I look [the more I look] the more I see [the more I see]
The Word of God [the Word Of God] is what I need

Oh yeah, oh yeah
Yeah, it’s the book of love
Yeah, yeah, yeah
It’s the book of love

(repeat chorus)

Speak to me, breathe in me new life [x2]
Let Him in your heart [x4]

These are just a few of my thoughts and reflections on the matter. I know that God is still in control of every situation that does come along our way. Happy Reading, Adam

Leave a Reply

