At times

For some odd reason the past few days I have had two songs going through my head. Almost as if the shuffle button is broke, and the two songs are similar but so apart.

The first song is called Fix You, it is by a band called ColdPlay. The lyrics are very haunting, but in a way a encouragement. Here are the lyrics to the song.

“Fix You”

When you try your best, but you don’t succeed
When you get what you want, but not what you need
When you feel so tired, but you can’t sleep
Stuck in reverse

And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace
When you love someone, but it goes to waste
Could it be worse?

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

And high up above or down below
When you’re too in love to let it go
But if you never try you’ll never know
Just what you’re worth

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

Tears stream down on your face
When you lose something you cannot replace
Tears stream down on your face
And I…

Tears stream down on your face
I promise you I will learn from my mistakes
Tears stream down on your face
And I…

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

What are the lyrics really trying to say to us? To me they are saying do not be afraid to take a risk every now and again. Your friends will be there to help guide you back on track. You will get motivated to try again, but do not give up on your dreams. Or to look at it from a totally obscured view point. Think of the lyrics as God is telling us I will try to meet you. We learn from our mistakes but that does not mean that we should give up our dreams.Tears stream down our face could either represent happy or sad. happy because of over whelmed joy. Or sadness do to over whelmed loss. Keep in mind that what I am writing is just my own opinion. Lyrics do have a unique way of catching up to us as well.

The second song that I would like to compare is a song by The Fray.  Now granted there are so many songs that I could have blended or mixed together. Near the end of the blog I will try and sum up why I choose these two songs to start with. The song is called “How to save a life”.

This song means so much to me, and within my own circle. Now what clearly could I have meant by that? Well here are the lyrics maybe that will help.

How to save a life

Step one you say we need to talk
He walks you say sit down it’s just a talk
He smiles politely back at you
You stare politely right on through
Some sort of window to your right
As he goes left and you stay right
Between the lines of fear and blame
You begin to wonder why you came

CHORUS:
Where did I go wrong, I lost a friend
Somewhere along in the bitterness
And I would have stayed up with you all night
Had I known how to save a life

Let him know that you know best
Cause after all you do know best
Try to slip past his defense
Without granting innocence
Lay down a list of what is wrong
The things you’ve told him all along
And pray to God he hears you
And pray to God he hears you

CHORUS:
Where did I go wrong, I lost a friend
Somewhere along in the bitterness
And I would have stayed up with you all night
Had I known how to save a life

As he begins to raise his voice
You lower yours and grant him one last choice
Drive until you lose the road
Or break with the ones you’ve followed
He will do one of two things
He will admit to everything
Or he’ll say he’s just not the same
And you’ll begin to wonder why you came

CHORUS:
Where did I go wrong, I lost a friend
Somewhere along in the bitterness
And I would have stayed up with you all night
Had I known how to save a life

CHORUS:
Where did I go wrong, I lost a friend
Somewhere along in the bitterness
And I would have stayed up with you all night
Had I known how to save a life
How to save a life
How to save a life

CHORUS:
Where did I go wrong, I lost a friend
Somewhere along in the bitterness
And I would have stayed up with you all night
Had I known how to save a life

CHORUS:
Where did I go wrong, I lost a friend
Somewhere along in the bitterness
And I would have stayed up with you all night
Had I known how to save a life
How to save a life

How many times do we question that thought? We encounter so many people in our day to day life’s that how do we know who is really hurting and who is not? I have been there with a few friends asking that same question,now I do not think it is just talking about a death of a friend. I feel like it may also be referring to a friendship as well. Sometimes us just being there could mean so much more then we could even imagine. I know that even I have felt so lost where if it had not been for a few select friends I would not be here. A few years latter I did save a life. Told them my story, they opened up to me as to where they had been, little did I know that close to 10 years latter they would be a close friend still.
Just being open to talk and just be there can mean much more then you or I could even come close to imagining. With the first song “Fix You”, why should we try and fix someone unless they need the help? They need to sometimes be the one to take the first step towards the lights. But rest assured we will be there to help them along. It may take them to be on there last breath, before they admit that they need help or a close group of friends that deeply care.
For ” How to save a life.” Just be there for them, be open and available. If you say your phone is always on, show them if they call up in the middle of the night not saying anything. Just assure them that you are there. My phone is always on for the very reason in which I mentioned.
If anyone who reads this needs a friend, someone to listen I am always available. I may not always have the answers, but I will stand by you. I will catch you if you start to fall. Even if you just need to know that you are not alone. Happy Reading, Adam
Leave a Reply

