Leap of Faith

“There are many talented people who haven’t fulfilled their dreams because they over thought it, or they were too cautious, and were unwilling to make the leap of faith.” James Cameron said that quote, but if you think about what that quote is saying how much more of a truer image or mindset do you need? When was the last time that you truly believed in something, but did not give up on that 1thing? When was the last time you took a huge leap of faith into the unknown?

In the clip in which I am going to show here in a moment the charcter “Indiana Jones,” is stuck in the same type of situation. He is on a quest to find the holy grail. And along the way he has some choices to make. He knows that he needs to take the first step. But what if he fails, what if he lets down those who are counting on him? That is what faith is all about believe in the unknown. Latter I will have another clip to help explain that more. Here goes the first clip http://youtu.be/xFntFdEGgws What were some of the thoughts, and emotions going through your mind as you saw that clip? Well if you are a guy reading this, your thoughts might refer back to,” I want that type of adventure, when will it be my turn”. For the ladies that see this clip they might be thinking, “when will I find a guy brave and heroic like that?”

That is not the direction in which I am going to lead this though, the original thought is about taking a leap of faith. So back to that, what are some of your dreams? What are you doing to accomplish some of those dreams? What are some of the fears that try and hold you back? What is it going to take to get you to take that first step? As for me, some of my dreams are to be able to back to the international missionary field.  One of my biggest fears is what is stopping me?Another fear is going back to college, I know thought that might be the first step in that direction thought. Or a better way to word it, what if the door does not open for me? Would I be content enough to remain “state side”? I am going to take that leap and apply to go back to school in August.

But this brings up a very interesting point, what if God gives us the opportunities and we do not see them as a leap of faith? We just think that is where we do not belong so therefore we are afraid, to embrace and take a stand. And even take that giant leap. Here is a clip to explain what I mean,

What am I trying to say though all of this. What I am trying to say is do not be afraid to take that first step. God is still going to be with you of course, but it is up to you. So like I said before what is stopping you? Bruce Springsteen wrote a song called “Leap of faith”, here is part of the chorus—“It takes a leap of faith to get things going It takes a leap of faith you gotta show some guts It takes a leap of faith to get things going In your heart you must trust”. Happy Reading Adam, Remember to always take that leap of faith, you never know what doorsor opportunity might be open due to that first step. That is where it all starts one step.

Leave a Reply

