Missions

When we first think about the word missions what thoughts come to mind? Possibly serving overseas in a third world country, helping the sick or the hungry in Africa , what about just reaching across the pew aisle ? Now when Jesus gave us the great commission I think that He was very clear into what he wanted us to do…Mathew 28:18-20Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.  Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” But wait what if you do not feel as if you are called to go the nations? Can you not serve the Lord in a missions compatibility way within your own backyard? And see the growth of the Kingdom that way?

This is something I have struggled with for a long time and for that matter something that I still struggle with. Yes I have turned it over to God with the worry and the doubt, but at the same time what if I feel as if God is leading me over seas yet and part of me may be holding on to that? Is that a sense of doubt that I may not trust God completely with the amazing plan that He does have in store for me, or is it doubt within my self that I wonder if God is really calling me to what I thought was a passion or did I see it as more of an escape feeling? I feel as if it could be a mixture of everything.

Leave a Reply

